Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

Patron Saints of Nothing

ebook

SHORTLISTED FOR THE CARNEGIE AWARD 2020

A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin's murder.

When Jay Reguero hears of his cousin Jun's death, everything changes. Although years have passed since they were last in contact, the stories about Jun just don't fit with the boy Jay knew. Hoping to uncover the truth, Jay travels to Jun's home in the Philippines – but the shocking realities of life there lead to even more questions. Can Jay find the answers he seeks?

A gripping and lyrical YA novel for fans of Angie Thomas's THE HATE U GIVE, Patrice Lawrence's ORANGEBOY and Nic Stone's DEAR MARTIN.

"This powerful and courageous story offers readers a refreshingly emotional depiction of a young man of color with an earnest desire for the truth." - Kirkus starred review


Expand title description text
Publisher: Stripes Publishing
Awards:

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9781788951555
  • Release date: July 6, 2019

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9781788951555
  • File size: 730 KB
  • Release date: July 6, 2019

Loading
Loading

Formats

OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

Languages

English

Levels

ATOS Level:5.3
Lexile® Measure:840
Interest Level:9-12(UG)
Text Difficulty:4-5

SHORTLISTED FOR THE CARNEGIE AWARD 2020

A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin's murder.

When Jay Reguero hears of his cousin Jun's death, everything changes. Although years have passed since they were last in contact, the stories about Jun just don't fit with the boy Jay knew. Hoping to uncover the truth, Jay travels to Jun's home in the Philippines – but the shocking realities of life there lead to even more questions. Can Jay find the answers he seeks?

A gripping and lyrical YA novel for fans of Angie Thomas's THE HATE U GIVE, Patrice Lawrence's ORANGEBOY and Nic Stone's DEAR MARTIN.

"This powerful and courageous story offers readers a refreshingly emotional depiction of a young man of color with an earnest desire for the truth." - Kirkus starred review


Expand title description text